I Can Relate

For this blog post, I am reviewing a blog that is similar to my own. “My Life as a Pastor’s Kid- Danielle’s Story” is a beautifully written blog post describing her upbringing as a pastor’s child and the blessings and difficult times it’s entailed. She describes how she understands being a PK has given her some great opportunities and shown her great life lessons. She tells her readers that she has “met and spoken to prolific, renowned pastors..” and that she has “attended family camps of more churches than [she] canremember and as a result have met diverse people with endless true-life stories.” However, the downside to these encounters is the demeaning feeling that she is only remembered because of her last name. I can definitely relate to this. It seems as though all I have to say when meeting someone in my diocese is my last name, Hardie, and the connection is almost always made and remembered because of that.

Another concern that she addresses is that she should would end up suppressing her feelings because of the emotional weight her father is under. Pastor’s, as most people know, conduct counseling, visit patients at hospitals frequently, unfortunately are around funerals often, and are apart of multiple other ministries. All of these ministries obviously put emotional stress on our father’s and affect their lives. I mean, they’re caring human beings, it’s only expected. Danielle obviously supports her father’s work like I do, but as I can relate again, the feeling that you should hide your feelings sometimes just because they don’t seem relevant or as important as everything else that’s going on with other people, kinda stinks.

Danielle artfully depicts her church as understanding through grace and sympathy even though most PK’s feel like they are being held to a higher standard. She calls her church her family like I do. It encourages me to see that other Pastor’s children view their church this way and are sharing their experiences with the public. It shows another, more positive perspective of growing up in the church besides the terrible stereotypical PKs. However, it is important to she and I that we give off a good impression for our family and father’s sake. Because of this, its easy to get in the habit of hiding our own sinful struggles and times of doubt. Danielle, however found her closure through  James 5:16 and explains to her readers “that where there is honesty among community, there is healing. More than being a good representative of [her] family, God desires [her] to be a good representative of Christ. That is freeing, because it means that [she is] no different than any other redeemed sinner, seeking God on a journey Home.” Reading this was completely eye opening and inspiring to me. I hadn’t really looked at it through that perspective and I appreciate that now I’m able to.pops

All in all, I really enjoyed reading through Danielle’s blog post about her experience as a pastor’s kid. It let me understand, see, and relate to someone else who has as similar family background. She is a very talented writer and her page is easily accessible and simple to maneuver around. She concludes her post by expressing that her stories about her father are inspiring to her and says, “that’s the kind of man my pastor is. A good one. That’s the kind of man my dad is. A good one. He just happens, for me, to be one and the same, and I wouldn’t change that for all the world.” Danielle, I can relate.

Leave a Reply

